Skip to main content

DCHS Teacher one of seven members awarded Kansas Master Teacher class of 2022

Posted Date: 02/23/2022

DCHS Teacher one of seven members awarded Kansas Master Teacher class of 2022

Dr. Fred Dierksen Sarah Hoff Martha Mendoza Matt Turner at award announcement for KS Master Teacher class of 2022


Sarah M. Hoff, Social Studies Teacher at Dodge City High School was one of the seven members of the 2022 class of Kansas Master Teachers announced on Tuesday. Through the support of the Bank of America Charitable Foundation, each Master Teacher will be presented with a check for $1,000.  The recipients were selected by a 10-member committee including representatives from the Kansas Association of Colleges of Teacher Education, Kansas Principals Association, Kansas Association of School Boards, Kansas Association of Secondary School Principals, Kansas National Education Association, Kansas National Education Association – Student Program, ESU’s Kappa Delta Pi student organization, and representatives of the 2020 Kansas Master Teacher class. 

On Kansas Master Teacher Day, as part of several recognition activities, the teachers will present a seminar at 2:30 p.m. in the W.S. and E.C. Jones Conference Center in Visser Hall. The teachers will then be honored during a social hour at 5:45 p.m. in Webb Hall Lobby of Emporia State’s Memorial Union followed by the banquet and award ceremony at 6:30 p.m. 

Emporia State established the Kansas Master Teacher awards in 1954. The awards are presented annually to selected teachers who demonstrate the attributes of exemplary professional educators. Information on the 67 years of educators named Kansas Master Teachers is available at

Since 1980, Bank of America has pledged more than $100,000 to permanently endow the Kansas Master Teacher awards. In 1984, the Black family of Broken Bow, Oklahoma, established an endowed chair for Kansas Master Teachers. The fund provides a stipend to bring two Master Teachers to Emporia State for several days. During this time, the teachers present to classes of education students.

Dr. Fred Dierksen, Matt Turner, Martha Mendoza and Sarah’s husband Patrick Cuddy were on hand when Sarah received the call announcing her award.